Mardi Gras Crochet Bunting

“How’s ya mama an’ them?”

sam_2835

Before I lived on the Gulf Coast, all I’ve ever heard about Mardi Gras was the dire need (if you dared to go) to look out for pickpockets, charlatans, drunks, and weirdos. Mardi Gras was the boogeyman of dissipation. Well, that was specifically for New Orleans. At the time, I didn’t imagine Mardi Gras taking place anywhere outside of New Orleans. We live and learn. There are often Mardi Gras celebrations in the cities of Mobile, Alabama; Lake Charles, Louisiana; Lafayette, Louisiana; St. Louis, Missouri; Biloxi, Mississippi; Pensacola, Florida; Galveston, Texas; and last but not least, La Crosse, Wisconsin.

sam_2836

Heather would get so many strings of beads (throw) when we went to Mardi Gras parades in Pass Christian, Mississippi and Long Beach, Mississippi. Afterwards, I wouldn’t know what to do with it all. We had bags full. The parades were often in the middle of the day and Heather’s Girl Scout troop would march in them dressed as some theme. One year it was electronics: televisions, radios, etc.

sam_2838

I started thinking about the colors of Mardi Gras, –purple, green, and gold and wanted to crochet something. No one on the Gulf Coast will ever need a scarf (made of yarn) during late February. That’s why I was happy to learn that Mardi Gras is celebrated in Wisconsin too. Maybe, a nice scarf will still be needed in late February there. Anyway, as a substitution for a scarf, I thought what about a festive Mardi Gras garland.

Isn’t it so cute!?

sam_2827

Oh, and I dug out an old brooch that I bought from a woman in 1990 who made them every year and sold them at work. The longer and bigger the feathers were, the more people wanted them. LOL! You can see that Troy was curious at what I was photographing. I should put him on a float with beads around his neck.

sam_2825

For the triangles, I used Sue Rivers pattern here.  <— click link.

This entry was posted in Bunting, Crochet, Garland, Mardi Gras. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment