Steak, Kale, and Potatoes

If you want steak and cannot afford a choice cut, the next best thing is to make a dish that has steak pieces in it.  With my latest dish, I used London Broil (A.K.A. English steak, Swiss steak, beef chuck or shoulder steak).  I paid around $6.00 total for the piece I used for dinner.  Because London Broil has little fat, it can easily become tough when prepared as a standalone steak.

I worked around the possibility of toughness by using it in thinly slice pieces.  I must warn you, with this choice of steak and with the use of fresh kale, this dish requires chewing.  That shouldn’t have to be a disclaimer, but I am learning with my grandchildren that any food that requires more chewing than for pizza is deemed undesirable.  What a bunch of lazy-butts.  At fault are the pizza’s soft cheese, sauce, and dough.

Anyway, this meal was very fulfilling.

I began with slicing up bell peppers, onions, and garlic and then sautéing them all in a skillet with a bit of sesame oil (too much sesame oil will ruin everything!) and olive oil.   After the onions were translucent, I pushed all the vegetables to one side of the skillet and added the thinly slice steak pieces, but not before I seasoned the meat with ground ginger, crushed red pepper flakes, course black pepper, and soy sauce.  When the steak was almost done, I added the fresh kale and stirred it around until it was wilted.

In another skillet, I heated some vegetable oil and fried up chunks of potatoes with the skin left on.  I wanted to call them cottage potatoes, but I think cottage potatoes are boiled whole first, and then cut up and fried.

This entry was posted in #LOVE, Food, Kale, Potatoes, Steak. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

