Crochet Valentine’s Day Tree

Valentine 2016 020With this project I was determined not to buy anything or even consider buying anything.  I was settled to think of ways to use what I had on hand.  I’m sure it would’ve been prettier had all the hearts been pink, white, red, purple, maroon, and/or burgundy.  But, like I said I wanted to use what I had so I used little tiny balls of yarn that I had left over from previous projects.

That yellow heart in the back left is from a baby blanket I made for Danielle. The violent center of the violet and white heart in the front is from Violet's baby blanket.

That yellow heart in the back left is from a baby blanket I made for Danielle. The violet center of the violet and white heart in the front is from Violet’s baby blanket.

To get the twigs, the kids and I went to Mohegan Park and found them after I made them take all the empty water bottles back to the store.  In which they made $18.50.  Danielle got $9.00, Jacques got $9.00 and Violet and Ashton got a quarter a piece.  They usually get two quarters a piece, but Danielle and Jacques said Ashton and Violet refused to help and instead hopped around the bottle return room like banshees.

Awww, that caramel brown is from Ashton's baby blanket. The pink heart in the back was from a scarf we made for one of Danielle's teachers who was retiring about 7 years ago.

That caramel brown is from Ashton’s baby blanket. The pink heart in the back was from a scarf we made for one of Danielle’s teachers who was retiring about 7 years ago.  The blue heart at the top is from a blanket I made Jacques about 5 years ago and a scarf I made for my friend Maren.

I had clear beads that have been sitting in my crafting box forever.  I don’t even remember where they came from now.  The vase came from flowers given to me in the past.  Recently I read that if you want to declutter you must get rid of a list of things.  On that list were vases.  I scoffed at the thought at first when the article mentioned that people had way more vases than they needed, particularly the kind that come from flower deliveries.  Well, I went and looked and I have about ten, so I will be giving a few to Goodwill on my next trip.

20160129_114439

The other pertinent thing on the list was novelty coffee mugs.  Again, I didn’t think I was guilty.  Sure enough, I have quite a few gift-coffee mugs.  Those will be harder to purge, because many of them were given with love.  Awww. Actually, I have one right now for Uncle Sidney that Jacques bought.  I have to get it in the mail.

More hearts.

More hearts.

I cannot remember what projects all the yarn is from; nevertheless, I know some of the more precious ones such as baby blankets and a few scarves.

I made this garland about 5 years ago. I crocheted a long rope. Then tied inexpensive Valentine theme fabric strips into bows until the rope was covered from end to end.

I made this garland about 5 years ago. I crocheted a long rope. Then tied inexpensive Valentine theme fabric strips into bows until the rope was covered from end to end.

Playing with light.

Playing with light.

This entry was posted in #LOVE, Crochet, Valentine's Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

